2017 Writers Guild Awards – Live Blog

Live from The Beverly Hilton Hotel, the 2017 WGA Awards Show is Ensured to be Unpredictable.

By Lisa Minzey

This is one our favorite awards shows. Why you may ask? For any type of storytelling – visual, audio or literary, it all starts with a blank page. It all starts with the writer.

This year where awards shows have become platforms for celebrities turned advocates, speaking their thoughts, beliefs and causes, this award show shows no signs of taming down especially with outspoken host Actor/ Comedian Patton Oswald.

Presenters include:

Kerry Washington (Scandal, Confirmation), who will present the WGAW’s Paul Selvin Award to Oscar and WGA-nominated screenwriter Susannah Grant (Erin Brockovich) for the HBO telefilm Confirmation

Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul)

William H. Macy (Shameless)

Chelsea Handler (Chelsea)

Fred Armisen (Portlandia / Documentary Now!)

Wendi McClendon-Covey (The Goldbergs, Bridesmaids)

Tony Hale (Veep)

Randall Park (Fresh Off the Boat)

John Ross Bowie (The Big Bang Theory and Speechless)

Kumail Nanjiani (Silicon Valley)

Michaela Watkins (Transparent, Casual)

Playing House co-creators & co-stars Lennon Parham (Veep, Lady Dynamite) & Jessica St. Clair (Veep, The McCarthys)

Iconic TV comedy writer-producer Norman Lear (One Day at a Time, All in the Family)

David Koechner (The Goldbergs, Superior Donuts)

Bill Burr (Walk Your Way Out, Breaking Bad)

Also recieving honored awards this evening are:

Jeff Goldblum (Independence Day: Resurgence, Jurassic Park) will present the WGAW’s Valentine Davies Award to acclaimed screenwriter-director Richard Curtis (Love Actually, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Bridget Jones’s Diary) for his humanitarian service and charitable efforts around the globe.

James Woods (Salvador, Nixon) will present the WGAW’s Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement to Academy Award and WGA-winning screenwriter-director Oliver Stone (Platoon, Born on the Fourth of July, JFK)

Jeff Daniels (The Newsroom) will present the WGAW’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement to Oscar and WGA-winning The Social Network screenwriter and The West Wing / The Newsroom Creator Aaron Sorkin

Shohreh Aghdashloo (Star Trek Beyond, The Expanse) will present the Guild’s Jean Renoir Award for International Screenwriting Achievement to late Iranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami (Taste of Cherry, The Wind Will Carry Us, Certified Copy)

Howard Michael Gould (Instant Mom) will present the WGAW’s Morgan Cox Award to Emmy-nominated M*A*S*H writer and past WGAW Board of Directors member Dan Wilcox for his Guild service.





About Lisa Minzey

Lisa Minzey is Editor in Chief of The Reel Critic.com. She has written for Phoenix Film Foundation, an online contributor for EW.com and is known to write a screenplay or 12. She's worked in Hollywood in various forms, but her first love is writing. She currently resides in Los Angeles.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *