2017 Writers Guild Awards – Live Blog

Tech tipsComputer Tricks

Live from The Beverly Hilton Hotel, the 2017 WGA Awards Show is Ensured to be Unpredictable.

By Lisa Minzey

This is one our favorite awards shows. Why you may ask? For any type of storytelling – visual, audio or literary, it all starts with a blank page. It all starts with the writer.

This year where awards shows have become platforms for celebrities turned advocates, speaking their thoughts, beliefs and causes, this award show shows no signs of taming down especially with outspoken host Actor/ Comedian Patton Oswald.

Presenters include:

Kerry Washington (Scandal, Confirmation), who will present the WGAW’s Paul Selvin Award to Oscar and WGA-nominated screenwriter Susannah Grant (Erin Brockovich) for the HBO telefilm Confirmation

Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul)

William H. Macy (Shameless)

Chelsea Handler (Chelsea)

Fred Armisen (Portlandia / Documentary Now!)

Wendi McClendon-Covey (The Goldbergs, Bridesmaids)

Tony Hale (Veep)

Randall Park (Fresh Off the Boat)

John Ross Bowie (The Big Bang Theory and Speechless)

Kumail Nanjiani (Silicon Valley)

Michaela Watkins (Transparent, Casual)

Playing House co-creators & co-stars Lennon Parham (Veep, Lady Dynamite) & Jessica St. Clair (Veep, The McCarthys)

Iconic TV comedy writer-producer Norman Lear (One Day at a Time, All in the Family)

David Koechner (The Goldbergs, Superior Donuts)

Bill Burr (Walk Your Way Out, Breaking Bad)

Also receiving honored awards this evening are:

Jeff Goldblum (Independence Day: Resurgence, Jurassic Park) will present the WGAW’s Valentine Davies Award to acclaimed screenwriter-director Richard Curtis (Love Actually, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Bridget Jones’s Diary) for his humanitarian service and charitable efforts around the globe.

James Woods (Salvador, Nixon) will present the WGAW’s Laurel Award for Screenwriting Achievement to Academy Award and WGA-winning screenwriter-director Oliver Stone (Platoon, Born on the Fourth of July, JFK)

Jeff Daniels (The Newsroom) will present the WGAW’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement to Oscar and WGA-winning The Social Network screenwriter and The West Wing / The Newsroom Creator Aaron Sorkin

Shohreh Aghdashloo (Star Trek Beyond, The Expanse) will present the Guild’s Jean Renoir Award for International Screenwriting Achievement to late Iranian filmmaker Abbas Kiarostami (Taste of Cherry, The Wind Will Carry Us, Certified Copy)

Howard Michael Gould (Instant Mom) will present the WGAW’s Morgan Cox Award to Emmy-nominated M*A*S*H writer and past WGAW Board of Directors member Dan Wilcox for his Guild service.

The show opens up with a Fake PSA parody the current president’s past television endeavors, making fun of Jews and “Proudly serving the Communist Party since 1949”.

Patton is really playing up this Russian angle, getting a lukewarm reception.

James Woods & Oswald have some entertaining banter back & forth in regards to the two political beliefs of the country. Good stuff.

First Award of the night presented by William H. Macy:

Best Episodic Drama“The Trip” (This Is Us), Written by Vera Herbert; NBC

Next presenter up Michaela Watkins has some awkward sexual banter intro for a children’s category… a little too weird tbh.

Best Children’s Episodic & Special – “Mel vs. The Night Mare of Normal Street” (Gortimer Gibbon’s Life on Normal Street), Written by Laurie Parres; Amazon Studios

Best Children’s Long Form or Special – Once Upon a Sesame Street Christmas, Written by Geri Cole & Ken Scarborough; HBO

Next presenter up is John Ross Bowie to present the awards for Daytime Drama.

Best Daytime DramaGeneral Hospital, Writers: Shelly Altman, Anna Theresa Cascio, Andrea Archer Compton, Suzanne Flynn, Janet Iacobuzio, Elizabeth Korte, Daniel James O’Connor, Jean Passanante, Dave Rupel, Katherine Schock, Scott Sickles, Chris Van Etten, Christopher Whitesell; ABC

Best On-Air Promo for TV, Radio or New Media“CBS On-Air Reel,” Written by Brian Retchless; CBS On-Air Promotion

Now time for worst career advice from various WGA members…

The Stranger Things writing duo The Duffer Brothers – Notes from the studio – “Get rid of the kids”

Now Jeff Goldblum is on stage to present Richard Curtis (Love Actually, Four Weddings and a Funeral, Bridget Jones’s Diary) for his humanitarian service and charitable efforts around the globe.

Patton is back to introduce award contender “Manchester By The Sea”, “Fences”, “Arrival” & “Dirty Grandpa”. Wait, what?

That was a joke slipped in by Oswald, threatening the room to screen “Dirty Grandpa”. Thanks, we will pass.

Now up is Bob Odenkirk to present award for Best Episodic Comedy:

Best Episodic Comedy“Kimmy Goes on a Playdate! (Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt), Written by Robert Carlock; Netflix

Randall Park up to present award for Best Comedy Variety Special

Best Comedy / Variety – Music, Awards, Tributes – SpecialsTriumph’s Election Special, Written by Andy Breckman, Josh Comers, David Feldman, R J Fried, Jarrett Grode, Ben Joseph, Matthew Kirsch, Michael Koman, Mike Lawrence, Brian Reich, Craig Rowin, Robert Smigel, Zach Smilovitz, Andrew Weinberg; Hulu

Jeff Daniels now on stage to present Aaron Sorkin with WGAW’s Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television Writing Achievement

Great package shown on Sorkin’s body of work, truly a “Writer’s Writer.

Telling about his writing dream – paying his bills, becoming a member of WGA but not a recipient of this award. His dreams have been exceeded and now launched into a long monologue on “Real Americans”.

A special appearance by a fake POTUS to rant & rave (Comedian Anthony Atamanuik) about the writers in the room or riders? Commentary included rants about the Beverly Hilton, Jews, Billy Bush, The Apprentice, building a “firewall” around Final Draft, the writers of Blackish, “The Jeffersons”, the mess he inherited and other unmentionable R-Rated items, throwing in a Russian joke to close the bit.

Now on a lighter note, the ladies of Playing House, Jessica St. Clair and Lennon Parham are on stage to present the awards for video games:

Best Video Game WritingUncharted 4: A Thief’s End, Written by Neil Druckmann, Josh Scherr; Additional Writing Tom Bissell, Ryan James; Naughty Dog

Best Quiz & Audience Participation – Hollywood Game Night, Head Writer: Grant Taylor; Writers: Michael Agbabian, Alex Chauvin, Ann Slichter, Dwight D. Smith; NBC

About Lisa Minzey

Lisa Minzey is Editor in Chief of The Reel Critic.com. She has written for Phoenix Film Foundation, an online contributor for EW.com and is known to write a screenplay or 12. She's worked in Hollywood in various forms, but her first love is writing. She currently resides in Los Angeles.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *